Illustration Friday: Capable

I had witches on my brain for no particular reason, and monsters are just fun to draw any time. So that’s what was sitting on my drawing board. When “capable” popped up this week, I was at a bit of a loss. Then I thought of a not-so-capable witch struggling with her potions. My mind diverged to the Food Network (also for no particular reason) and a show called “Chopped,” where a  group of chefs compete against one another to create a three-course meal. So I sent my witches on a monster cook-off . . . kinda like Iron Chef morphing into Iron Cauldron. (click on illo if you want to see it a little larger)

14 responses to “Illustration Friday: Capable

  1. Haha, love it! Just to be clear, they are actually creating monsters not cooking them in soup? I love the different attitudes of the witches! The last one looks sad, maybe because her monster is cute instead of scary. They are all great monsters but I am fond of that little guy with the snaggletooth.

  2. This is GREAT!!! Love the expressions on both the witches and the monsters! Really fun illustration!

  3. Such a fun illustration! I particularly love the little green monster and his witch. She looks so adorably confused🙂

    • Hi Irina–thanks for the vote of confidence for the little witch! BTW, I love your illo of your two little girls (the lick). Unfortunately, Blogger kept kicking back my comment.

  4. Very clever, Nancy! I hear you on the rabbit trail of thoughts to get to this. I guess Witch Three will be “chopped” (one of my fave programs, btw)!

    • Hi Paula–Glad to hear there is another Food Network addict. I watch Chopped way too much. It would be fun to have a grey picnic basket for Illustration Friday sometime–a list of ingredients and 30 minutes for an illustration—

  5. Nice illustration I like the face of the witch in the middle.

  6. cute, cute, cute🙂

  7. It’s very difficult to create a small monster. Just saying…
    great drawing!!

  8. Hahahaha this is so funny! I watch Chopped too and can just imagine this in the kitchens!

  9. This is such a great concept and illustration! Love it!

Leave a Reply

