Illustration Friday: Book

What a great word prompt! Below is a series of bookmarks–minus the tassels–
I made for a library recently. (click to see larger)

As far as books go, here’s my top three favorites from childhood. I would love to hear from others regarding their favorites!

The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster and Jules Feiffer    I was a reluctant reader; my sister consumed books 24-7 but I had a hard time bridging beyond chapter books. Jules Feiffer’s illustrations, which work so magically in tandem with the text, filled in the gap for me. This still is my favorite read.

Crictor by Tomi Ungerer  This is sitting on my desk right now. I loved it as a kid because Crictor was just so charming; I love it now because the drawings are so fabulous and expressive.  And I have always admired the simple elegance of three-color printing from this era.

The Country Bunny and the Little Gold Shoes written by Dubose Heyward and illustrated by Marjorie Flack   Love love love it. The colors alone would keep me mesmerized; they are so beautiful. I would check this out again and again when we went to the library. I find it funny that it is now referred to as a “modern feminist tale” even though it was written in 1939. I must admit I am a little bummed the book is now sold as a gift set with a charm.

7 responses to “Illustration Friday: Book

  1. I love your charming characters!

  2. Now I know why we are friends…the Country Bunny is one of my all time faves, too! We have it and read it every Easter. Loving your expressive blog.

Leave a Reply

