Illustration Friday: Eye Glasses

I played soccer as a kid, but things were quite different back in the days when Abercrombie+Fitch was best known as a place to buy a duck decoy. There were no “clubs” and our team was lucky to even have uniforms. The idea of buying cleats for feet that weren’t finished growing yet was pure lunacy. Since my brother’s high school shin guards would have gone up to my waist, my mom creatively improvised with carpet remnants.

IF-eye-glasses

But the best part of my soccer emsemble was the fetching black elastic strap my dad hooked onto my new glasses to keep them off the grass and on my head. The revolutionary new plastic  “compressed lenses” of the day promised a thin, lightweight and elegant lens with a subdued profile. Except, of course, for the hopelessly myopic like me, who still sported  a good 3/4 inch depth of shiny, translucent plastic edge centered between my trendy wire frames.
But at least they kinda matched my shin guards.
soccer-team
Just in case you thought this was creative fiction
(note: we did not wear our shin guards for the official team photo).

12 responses to “Illustration Friday: Eye Glasses

  1. Love this illustration and your trip down memory lane.

  2. Thanks, Jill! I always love visiting your site to see your gorgeous watercolors!

  3. Oh my gosh! I totally was not expecting to see that old group photo when I scrolled down. Hilarious! I mean, in a good way. I’m in quite a few similar pictures myself.😀 Very cute illustration! I like the socks best too.

  4. You always have great tie-in stories for your IF entries, this one being no exception! Great illustration for the topic, Nancy!

    • Hi Paula! I have no idea why, but your comment ended up in my spam folder, and I didn’t see it until just now. Weird! But thanks, as always, for stopping by–I’ve enjoyed seeing all the bunnies you’ve been busy painting!

  5. This illustration is the bee’s knees… well soccer knees : )

  6. Oh my gosh! I love the old picture. You really didn’t have to put the arrow there! I would have figured that one out!!

  7. Great story, photo and illo!

Leave a Reply

